A Cherished Outing

I went to Morning Thunder for lunch yesterday.  As I pulled into the parking space, it hit me that the last time I was here was a morning outing with you.  It was Spring Break last year.  We had just dropped Shane off for baseball practice and decided we would go to Morning Thunder for breakfast.  

We sat at a little table off to the side.  You ordered hot chocolate with whipped cream and I remember being impressed with how “big” you were getting.  You ordered for yourself confidently.  Then you chose pancakes and ordered those yourself.  

It was a perfect little morning outing with you.  We talked about school and baseball coming up for you.  I took this picture that morning.  


This picture became the picture that was probably shared the most after you died.  And every time I looked at it, I was reminded of our breakfast outing.  And it still reminds me of it.  Your eyes in this picture burn through to my soul.  Through them I can see your kindness, your sweet and loving ways, your sweet soul.  How I cherish that morning and these memories.

Leave a comment